Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Setting up "The Net"

Bacon saver

Setting up "The Net"

How many on board have their license,ticket, whatever for short wave radio? OK, how many own SW radios within the colony and are willing to set up "The Net" I'm not talking about a little Ham club with coffee and dognuts. I'm talking a network of comms for the colony. No BS, just getting this thing going, how far can we stretch this thing? I think it would be worth our efforts. Especially in times of trouble, or road trips, or if natural disaster.

I'd like to get a head count and location of those willing to participate.

No call signs due to OPSEC as far as I'm concerned. of course all that shit goes out the window when the SHTF.............Thanks
    Be safe.............the night is your friend.

Got the gear, the antenna farm, and the knowledge. When the time comes, I will have a Winlink node up and running. In the mean time, Im just a ham operator.

BTW, there are frequencies/channels out there besides those allocated to HAM radio. I don't buy a piece of radio equipment that cannot be used on other frequencies.

Claptrap's Problem Solver

I think this is a great idea and encourage the ants to participate. Go slow because I know people have all sorts of PERSEC issues but in general I think linking together different parts of the country provides a great way to keep lines of communication open should the internets stop working.

This is almost tempting me to get my ticket and join in the fun.
    If you think that come SHTF you are gonna jock up in all your kit and be a death-dealing one man army, you're an idiot - izzyscout

Stalkercat...destroyer of donkeys, rider of horse

IN
    WARNING: This post may contain material offensive to those who lack wit, humor, common sense and/or supporting factual or anecdotal evidence. All statements and assertions contained herein may be subject to but not limited to: irony, metaphor, allusion and dripping sarcasm.