Thread: Calling all Knife enthusiast

Calling all Knife enthusiast

So I got two knives for Christmas. These are my first two quality knives. Well one of them is quality at least. I also say quality with a little hesitation. Since I'm not into knives enough to be a real judge of "quality"

I also cold hammer forged a knife by hand that I want to put a para-cord wrap on the handle. What should I know about this before I do it? Are there lots of different kind of para-cord?

Here is a video that shows all three knives. (Kershaw Brawler, Tac-Force Speedster, and my own custom creation.

I'll most likely shit myself

Real nice presents! I have no knowledge of Tac force knives, but it does look like a good looking knife. IMO the seat belt cutter and glass breaker just screams at me to keep this in my daily driver. I'm like you in the fact, I don't like to carry a large look at me knife as a EDC. I want a good blade that will cover what I need, but still something that don't draw attention or be bulky. But I do carry at least a spare folder and a fixed blade in all my vehicles.
    As far as Kershaw goes, I have 4 or 5 different models, but not the Brawler model. That looks like a sweet knife as well and for EDC use should cover your bases pretty well.
    My EDC is the Leek model. It fits and rides well, but is pretty well not noticed when in a pocket. All my Kershaws take a good edge and most of them hold it very well.
    As far as you hand made model, that is a nice looking blade. Never saw that style before, but I really like it. What type sheath are your gonna go with for it when it's done? What metal did you use to make it with? What forge do you have, gas, coal?

I just used general purpose low carbon steel. 36" x 1" x 1/4" I'm thinking it was 1018. :/