Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Prepping for the handicapped

looking at their tools while posting pictures of mine.
    about 20 minutes outside Lynchburg, TN...but which way...

Prepping for the handicapped

I have been debating on if I would start this thread for several years now. I haven't posted this due to my fear of having you thinking I was looking for your pity, or to put myself in the spotlight, as nothing could be further than the truth. All though I am technically considered handicapped, I don't see my self as such. About 2 yrs ago during our Tennessee meet-n-greet, I was approached by someone in the group who wanted to ask formally in the forum about problems a handicapped prepper might face, but was afraid to ask. I say ask anything, because I don't mind telling anyone anything they might want to know. So here is a bit about my life. I had problems with my neck since birth, as I remember my mother telling me stories of how I would cry and throw a fit if I was put on my stomach and had to turn my head sideways. I have a flat spot on the back of my head now from sleeping only on my back as a baby. Lol. But at that time, doctors just said maybe I will just grow out of it. I didn't, and I started having nerve pain at about 14 when I got my growth spurt. In my senior year I was 6'4", and weighed 150, tall and skinny. I always had back and neck pains, and took ibuprofen and muscle relaxers like they were candy for about 30 yrs. As I was approaching 50, I was working in a potato chip factory during the day, and going to night school studying to get a maintenance degree, and at the same time, I was starting a small, home based solar company called Greener Tennessee Solar. Maybe you have heard of it...no...anyone...nope. Because I was only able to get one job in before I had to shut it down. All of the studying, and having to bend my neck down to read was killing me. I was having back spasms that just would not stop. I had to go to the emergency room several