PDA

View Full Version : Review: Casio Forester

mitunnelrat
12-07-2011, 11:00 PM
Something I find critical in my life is the ability to keep and manage time. I'm a master at missing appointments and running late if I don't keep a close eye on it - which is why I love wearing a watch. I've gone without one for a bit, since my last watch liked to spring open at inopportune times and also got in my way more often than not, but a recent series of events (OT, holiday sales, and the end of a steep monthly payment) allowed me to get a new one I've been drooling over for 2 years: the Casio Forester, Model 2632. Its my early Christmas gift to myself.

The watch retails in my area for an average of $49.95, but is packed with features. I've wanted a vibration alarm for a decade. It has it, and will do so twice every hour, for 10 seconds at any of the alarms you wish to set (a maximum of 5), and (when set) for 5 seconds at the first 00 or 30 minute mark whenever a favorable hunting or fishing time is entered. The vibration is strong enough to wake me from a dead sleep.

Moving on, the times for the fishing info are calculated through the "home site data" you program for your area that is included in the manual. The data is a combination of a Greenwich Mean Time adjustment (GMT - 5 for Detroit) and lat./ lon. Input. This is done after setting the correct local time, and will need to be adjusted as DST starts and ends. The combo of correct time and location sets a "moon phase indicator" which has a display on the watch face and a mode that will tell you the moons age. This data calculates and estimates when fish and wild game are likely to be most active.

Other modes for include "fish memos", which can allow you to save data on date, time, moon phase, and how much wildlife you harvested. Up to 40 of them. I think a stop watch is the only thing I've failed to mention.