PDA

View Full Version : Storing seeds?

GunnerMax
12-10-2011, 08:04 PM
hey guys, I surfed onto this site, and wanted to know what you think about it? I think seeds, for me and my expecting wife, will be a better option than stockpiling alot of food. (remember we live in the suburbs in an 175 unit apartment complex, and 99% sure we will not stay during a long term SHTF.

Emergency Seed Bank - Best Non Hybrid Seeds Available (http://www.emergencyseedbank.com)

my main reasoning for contemplating this is that I want to be a person who has worth. I already have military training, and specilize in guns, explosives, and hydraulics. I have some electrical experience. I want to be that family that gets taken into a farm familiy. Who will bring his worth. I hope you are understanding what I am saying.

so, thoughts/inputs/suggestions?

helomech
12-10-2011, 09:40 PM
After I get my aquaponics set up I am ordering some. You can't do much with farming without non hybrid seeds.

shtfsurvivalist
12-10-2011, 09:45 PM
I have a large collection of seeds. I think it is a great idea to stock up on them.

mitunnelrat
12-10-2011, 10:24 PM
Though I still recommend you develop a more specific plan I can follow your logic on this. I think its good you're considering what assets you can bring to bear in an emergency, but I'm not sure I'd use a physical asset as a selling point. I'd hold knowledge of their existence in reserve (since you'll depend on them for survival and they're not a barter item), at the very least, in case you can't sell yourself of the merit of your skills and experience alone. If you don't have to mention them until after you strike a deal, so much the better.

Physical assets can be taken, knowledge and skills cannot, and there will be as many thieves and rapscallions, per capita, in shit kickers as there are in sneakers. As a current example, google the Ohio farm stead whose owners were luring victims in on craigslist and killing them.