PDA

View Full Version : Brand new and want to know where to start

nepreneaux
12-27-2011, 04:18 AM
New to the site, my real name is Mike. I looked at several and settled on this one because the posts are not from 2006. So this is my current situation. 4 bedroom 2600 sq ft house on 35 acre farm. We bought it in April, the old couple had it up for sale for a year. They sold off all the livestock, but I got a 1 acre pre plowed garden. Large barn, completely fenced, land is located across the street from powerplant lake on one side, and a city lake on the other. I have both community water and a well. A stocked one acre tank, that's pond to anyone outside Texas. 80 hp IH tractor with a few implements. I am a cop with about 4 years to retirement, so got weapons, and the old lady is a nurse about 10 years away from retirement. Got horses, goats, chickens, heirloom seeds, 2 trucks, 1 car, 1 harley, 1 boat, did I mention lakes?, and a Polaris Ranger 4x4. I have completely lost faith in the people running shit. What is my next move? Oh and thanks in advance for the help.

RedJohn
12-27-2011, 09:54 AM
First welcome here and second stop making me drool. Your setting sounds like a dream come true.

Fatty
12-27-2011, 11:18 AM
Mike, how dare you come on this sight and instantly create this level of jealousy!

Btw, welcome and happy to have you!

Since it sounds like you have all the expensive stuff sorted... All you have to really worry about is more beans, bullets, and batteries. Maybe an assortment of medications? :)

RedJohn
12-27-2011, 03:33 PM
I think you need to make a list. What do I have. What do I need. And look at the difference. You seem like you have a lot already. A lot of ground covered.

Without out going to dig too far right now, unless you want to work the farm (tough job) you need to complete you non-meat preps (you seem to have the meat already, think about rabbit and chickens). You already have the guns and ammo for protection and hunting.