PDA

View Full Version : Vehicles: How many can you fix?

MegaCPC
01-17-2012, 03:10 AM
Just as the title asks. Your driving skills won't get you far if your vehicle isn't in good shape.

So how many of you can change a head gasket? Or replace a water pump? Or diagnose a misfire?

Also, how many of you stock spare vehicle parts?

helomech
01-17-2012, 03:20 AM
Well I am a mechanic by trade. Been working on aircraft from fixed wing recips, to turbine helicopter, and mid sized jets for 20 years. Worked on boats, cars, trucks, tractors heck anything that moves pretty much. Just not real good with the computer side of things.

ladyhk13
01-17-2012, 03:26 AM
Funny you should post this...was in an antique shot today and saw an old Chilton manual and thought..."hmmm, we should be picking up every one of those we come across because ya never know when we will need it in any given situation" and then thought, 'nah, DH can fix anything' and kept walking. But really, as a woman maybe we really should have some of these around since we can follow directions!

p.s. NO smartass remarks needed boys!

Sniper-T
01-17-2012, 11:16 AM
I can pretty much do whatever needs to be done with tools. I've swapped motors, transmissions, Diffs. done brakes and shocks, etc.

I keep a parts truck for my primary vehicle, and replace anything I use. I don't keep a full accompaniment of gaskets though, but I do have enough gasket in a tube, to rebuild a motor or three. Yeah, it's not the same, but will do in a pinch.

I also maintain my snowmobiles, quads, outboards, chainsaws, etc.

izzyscout21
01-17-2012, 01:11 PM
Ok. Here's where I'm weak. My little brother is a carpenter. My other little brother is a mechanic and a brickmason. Dad is a former soldier, now cop. Dad always tells me, "Son, you're brothers got the creative, handy gene. You got the warrior gene."