PDA

View Full Version : How to heat home without electricity modular.

tompnoid
05-16-2012, 05:30 PM
I am new to this so forgive my grammer please. I have a very nice modular i picked up a year or two ago nestled in a valley very nice location good people around fresh spring creek lots of woods and land. Now how do i heat it sans electric due to no real base under it for a wood stove. I was debating on going solar but with 2 kids and not alot of good paying jobs around here its out of reach financially. so what do i do?

Sniper-T
05-16-2012, 05:36 PM
Drag it 1000 miles South??

Geez, no electric, no wood, no solar, and no money...

That is a toughie!

How big is it? maybe a couple of smaller woodstoves rather than one big monster??

tompnoid
05-16-2012, 06:21 PM
like 20 by 72 i mean is shtf no electric no way i can run a furnace off of any real source and besides oil would run out quick

slowz1k
05-16-2012, 07:51 PM
I keep a Kero-Sun as a backup to supplement my HeatPump,Woodstove, and fireplace.

http://www.toyotomiusa.com/products/portableheaters/images/O-105.jpg

I don't use it often, but it's come in very handy during a few ice storms. Good for heating the "room you're in"... Plus Kerosene keeps for a reeeeeealy long time.

tompnoid
05-16-2012, 10:37 PM
I keep a Kero-Sun as a backup to supplement my HeatPump,Woodstove, and fireplace.

http://www.toyotomiusa.com/products/portableheaters/images/O-105.jpg

I don't use it often, but it's come in very handy during a few ice storms. Good for heating the "room you're in"... Plus Kerosene keeps for a reeeeeealy long time.

even that i stow usually like 30 gallons of kero for the house anyway but if that runs out no electric no pumps how do i re fuel i think i have found a wood system for like 800 that aint bad i am just wondering if it will heat the whole house i cant put in hall way id have to use fans or something to draw heat in the back of the house

tompnoid
05-16-2012, 10:46 PM