PDA

View Full Version : How current is your inventory?

prepguide
09-20-2012, 09:09 PM
No i'm not asking you to share information on what you have or how much of it you have. That is absolutely none of my business. What I am asking is how current is your inventory? As a preparedness consultant I ask this question often of my clients and if they don't have one I urge them in the strongest terms possible to do one. I am the self proclaimed Prophet of Inventory and have been for a long time. I believe strongly that having and maintaining a valid inventory is of huge value to a prepper.

Having a current inventory does several things for you.

1. Lets you know how much you have
2. Lets you know where your goods are
3. Lets you know what condition it is in
4. Allows you to better organize what you have
5. Allows you to set up a better buying plan on what you need

I am a single person household so what works for me is a food inventory every month and a complete equipment inventory once a quarter. If you don't know what you have you don't know what you need.

Doing an inventory doesn't have to take all day and quite honestly you shouldn't try to do it all in one day. Break it down by categories Food, Fuel, Medical, etc and do one category a day until you have it all done. Then once its done you KNOW what you have, where it is and what condition its in.

So how current is your inventory?

Echo2
09-20-2012, 10:18 PM
We do rotation ever time we have a meeting....I'd like to say every month....but as of late it's been more like every three.

The end of this month....we'll do a large shopping trip....the go to the meeting and swap as necessary....as will the other members.

We do the same with our gas stores.

Evolver
09-20-2012, 11:00 PM