PDA

View Full Version : Setting up "The Net"

Brownwater Riverrat 13
08-27-2013, 12:34 PM
How many on board have their license,ticket, whatever for short wave radio? OK, how many own SW radios within the colony and are willing to set up "The Net" I'm not talking about a little Ham club with coffee and dognuts. I'm talking a network of comms for the colony. No BS, just getting this thing going, how far can we stretch this thing? I think it would be worth our efforts. Especially in times of trouble, or road trips, or if natural disaster.

I'd like to get a head count and location of those willing to participate.

No call signs due to OPSEC as far as I'm concerned. of course all that shit goes out the window when the SHTF.............Thanks

Fidel MD
08-27-2013, 01:01 PM
Got the gear, the antenna farm, and the knowledge. When the time comes, I will have a Winlink node up and running. In the mean time, Im just a ham operator.

BTW, there are frequencies/channels out there besides those allocated to HAM radio. I don't buy a piece of radio equipment that cannot be used on other frequencies.

The Stig
08-27-2013, 01:28 PM
I think this is a great idea and encourage the ants to participate. Go slow because I know people have all sorts of PERSEC issues but in general I think linking together different parts of the country provides a great way to keep lines of communication open should the internets stop working.

This is almost tempting me to get my ticket and join in the fun.

izzyscout21
08-27-2013, 02:37 PM
IN

bacpacker
08-27-2013, 04:41 PM
Me to. Gotta get off my ass and get the HF antenna built and mounted.

Fidel is your Winlink node HF? I ran 2m w2k here for a while. Wouldn't take much to get it back up and running.

Fidel MD
08-27-2013, 05:28 PM
Yes, and when the time comes I'll be beaconing the frequencies. I also keep a download of (most of) wikipedia and have a server running it, which will be accessible, along with other information.