PDA

View Full Version : Big thanks to River Rat

izzyscout21
02-07-2014, 03:46 AM
Seriously, awesome job.

So, I got my HAM ticket awhile back, but haven't ever really done a whole lit with it.......

Until today.

Last weekend, BWRR gave me 2 antennas that he had made for me. 1 is semi- stationary, the other is a "throw-n-go" type J-pole.

(As I'm still new to the radio world, Rat can chime in here and explain the designs)

Anyways, I finally had the chance to set up the big antenna today.

Let me just say this:

This is really cool. Just off of this homemade antenna, using my little handheld, was able to hit a repeater and talk to another HAM that was 2 1/2 hours away. The guy on the other line said that I was crystal clear.

Still have yet to test my "throw and go", but if today's test is a sign, field expedient coms in a SHTF scenario just got a lot easier.

Awesome job, Rat.

Brownwater Riverrat 13
02-07-2014, 04:38 PM
Guess what I'm going to have to do here is post a new thread in the comms section. I now have three designs for your HT's (hand held radios).
1. A "throw and go" designed for a BOB or ruck which ever.
2. A Mini base station vertical pole for outdoor water tight permanent (if you want)
3. A integrated back pack design to weave into your molle.

To be continued...........have to finish a gun for a man.

izzyscout21
02-07-2014, 06:07 PM
Seriously, you should sell those puppies.

They work great.
SAved a lot of headache from me building them....ya know, since I've got no clue what I'm doing. I'm more of a plug and play end user type of dude.

LUNCHBOX
02-08-2014, 01:20 AM
That molle weave sounds like a cool idea.

izzyscout21
02-08-2014, 02:37 AM
The molle TVAS type antenna is uber sweet

Gunfixr
02-09-2014, 05:34 PM
Guess I'll have to throw something off the list, so I can work on getting a HAM ticket. Seems like it'll be the way to go.

ladyhk13
02-09-2014, 07:21 PM