01-09-2015, 05:39 PM
tried and trusted recipe #1:

2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup warm water
1 egg
1 tbsp olive oil
1 pinch salt

dump the flour on the counter in a pile and hollow it out like a volcano
crack the egg into the volcano, add oil and salt.

Using a fork or small whisk, whisk around and around the inside of the vocano first to mix the ingredients and then by slowly making bigger circles, to incorporate the flour. Once everything is mixed toss the fork and knead by hand to form a nice ball. Let rest for 15-20 minutes, and it's ready to roll out.

Vodin
01-09-2015, 09:53 PM
I will definitely try this out.. well ok.. I will pass this on to my wife and have her give it a shot. I am only a grill chef..

YES!! I just got the give it a go.. but not this weekend..

bacpacker
01-10-2015, 03:15 AM
Thanks T. We will give this a try. I love some good pasta

Sniper-T
01-10-2015, 03:59 AM
For the health conscious, you can go up to about 1/3 cup whole wheat flour to 2/3 white flour. Any more than that and the pasta gets heavy and kinda gritty.

To impart some flavour, add a tsp of Italian seasoning to the volcano before whisking (if it has salt in the seasoning, cut out the pinch).

To add some colour/flavour, cut the water down to 3/4 cup and add 1/4 cup spinach juice. or same volume of tomato juice.

If you like some zing, add a pinch of cayenne or similar, or your fav. hot sauce.

Note: when you start running it through the machine (widest setting) make sure the machine, and the dough is well floured, you cant really have too much. once you get a strip, it will probably look like shit with holes... fold it in half and run it through again, and again. once you have a nice strip, then crank the dial one tighter and roll again. repeat until desired thickness. you may want to start cutting the strip shorter to make it more manageable.

Note: I usually cut the dough ball into quarters, and do one piece at a time.

note, on the machine, thickness wise: